“Zoot Suit” Director Luis Valdez to receive Lifetime Achievement Award at Mexican-American Film & TV Festival

Mexican-American Film & Television Festival

  The Mexican-American Film & Television Festival is dedicated to promoting and preserving the rich cultural heritage of Mexican-Americans in the United States. We believe that film and television are powerful mediums for telling our stories and sharing our experiences with the world.
  The 2nd Edition of the Mexican-American Film & Television Festival will be recognizing the work of the Godfather of Chicano theatre, and film director Luis Valdez (La Bamba) who will be receiving the Lifetime Achievement Award. 
  This year marks the 40 anniversary of the Zoot Suit Riots, and Valdez’s film on the incidents that lead up to the riots, Zoot Suit will be screened on May 21st. 
  Frank Rodriguez, General Sales Manager for Searchlight Pictures will receive the MACEF President Exemplar Award on Sunday, May 21st.


 The Mexican-American Film & Television Festival is produced by the Mexican-American Cultural Education Foundation, a nonprofit organization with the mission to change the narrative by educating the community about the endless positive contributions the Mexican-American people, (Chicano, Chicanx, Latino, Hispanic, Latinx, or 1st generation immigrants), and their rich culture have given to America, which is often unrecognized. 

Confirmed Zoot Suit Talent: Director Luis Valdez and cast members Mike Gomez, Sal Lopez, Angela Moya, Marco Rodriguez.
Additional Talent:
 Annie Gonzalez (Flamin’ Hot), Jesse Garcia (Flamin’ Hot) Producer Moctesuma Esparza (Selena), Actress Alex Meneses (Walker, Women Who Kill), Actors Pepe Serna (Flamin’ HotWith LoveLife is Art), Enrique Castillo (Mayans MCBlood In Blood Out), Mauricio Mendoza (Reboot, Promised Land), Laura Patalano (This Fool), Jacqueline Pinol (Bosch: LegacyCriminal Minds), Producer Yvett Merino (Encanto), Director Jesus Trevino (Gospel BillLaw & Order), Comedian Paul Rodriguez.  Sponsors/Executives: Tim McNeal (Disney), Philip Sanchez (City National Bank), David Lizarraga (Telacu), Frank Rodriguez President’s Award Honoree (Searchlight), Actress/Influencer Lizza Monet Morales.


Related articles

Robin Trower, Sari Schorr Release new song “I’ll Be Moving On”

Robin Trower and Sari Schorr have revealed the smoky late-night vibe of...

Noelle Sucks Shares New Single “Ugly Ugly” Out Now Via Graveboy Records

September 22nd, 2023 (Los Angeles, CA) - Today, rising LA-based...

Sony Music Canada Artist laye Releases Eight-Song EP, ‘losers’

September 22, 2023 – Today, Canadian singer-songwriter laye releases her sophomore project losers via Sony...


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here